My not-so-tiny house

A website called “The Tiny Life” says “the typical small or tiny house is between 100 and 400 square feet.”

Have I caught a trend?

With our kitchen and dining room undergoing renovation, the living room is at least measuring up to its name. We’re doing a lot of living in here.

We briefly considered setting up a makeshift kitchen in the garage but realized that space would be needed for construction staging.

I covered the upholstered furniture with sheets in case some dusty person needs a break.
I covered the upholstered furniture with sheets in case some dusty person needs a break.

So we rearranged the living room to make room for preparing food and eating. My desk and computer have remained.

Surely this qualifies me for the tiny living movement.

Uh, no.

While this space is now functioning as living room, dining room, kitchen and office, it’s more than 250 square feet. Through patio doors on one end is a screened-in porch and beyond that a patio with grill. Up the stairs are three bedrooms and two baths. Downstairs is a family room and laundry room.

Guess I don’t have it too badly.

Once emptied of the pretty stuff, a china cabinet makes a fine pantry.
Once emptied of the pretty stuff, a china cabinet makes a fine pantry.

I’m only on Day Two, but so far I’m more proud of my tiny kitchen than irritated with it.

The set-up phase was fun. I bought a compact, tabletop microwave and a hot plate. I found some cheery plastic bowls that will be easy to carry up and down stairs for washing.

Last night, after a long day of loud noises, dust and power outages, things seemed bleak, not fun.

About 10 p.m. I headed to Kroger to restock our tiny deli. In the aisle with pet food and light bulbs, I found a crucial tiny item.

This morning, with that two-pack of adapters, I could brew a pot of coffee without unplugging the refrigerator.

A little sleep and some caffeine was all it took to brighten my outlook.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My not-so-tiny house

  1. The novelty will wear off soon. On the bright side, you will learn what you really need to live and you will really enjoy your new kitchen when it is done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

